Ahoy, ahoy!  Welcome to the weekend.  Mount Allison’s football team has made it to playoffs for the first time in twelve years, and will hosting Acadia this Saturday!  On another note, next weekend I will be going to New York City!  Can’t wait to visit the Guggenheim and MoMA!  The Guggenheim has an exhibition on of posters created in North America from the interwar years, which I talked about in my last post, so I am really excited about that!  It’s going to be a whirlwind of adventure, that is for sure!

In class on Thursday, we watched a film on Paraskeva Clark.  It was a pretty basic film, covering a bit of her life story and ending with her selling a bunch of paintings at a gallery show.  Clark lived to be eighty-eight years old, and was a member of the Canadian Group of Painters, which formed after the Group of Seven split up.  The Canadian Group of Painters was much more diverse than the original Group of Seven, and had over 20 members.  Clark was also commissioned as a war artist during World War II.  In the video we watched, I really liked listening to some of the things Clark had to say.  One thing she said about art, was that you do it.  It’s not about creating, it’s about doing. Creating makes you seem like a god, and you are just doing what you know, which is art.

I really liked this idea.  I am not by any means much of an artist myself, but I do enjoy writing, which is somewhat like an art form.  When I write, I never think of myself as creating a poem or a story, or a commentary on something.  I just do it, and let the words flow as they come, be it written or typed.  Of course, I do let myself think a bit about what I plan to do, and I go back and make corrections and edits, maybe change a few things here and there.  But I never think to myself, “I am now creating a poem”.  The creative process of writing is essentially just doing it.  Yes, you will reach blocks sometimes, and yes, you will have to go back and edit and re edit, but it is all part of the process of doing writing.  And art is the same way.  You do not create.  You do.

Paraskeva Clark stopped painting at age 80 and died in 1986.  She seemed like a fabulous person, intelligent and witty.  Her desire to do art, as she would have said, was not driven by the want of money, which I respect.  There is a biography out about her, which you can buy on amazon.ca: http://www.amazon.ca/Perfect-Red-Life-Paraskeva-Clark/dp/1897151446/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1289000868&sr=8-1

That’s all!

Brit

