Ahoy, ahoy!

It’s me Brit, and I’m back again for part two of Canadian Art.  The winter break was lovely and refreshing, and now it is yet again time to hit the books.  We’re picking up Canadian Art again in the 1960’s to present day this semester.  So without further ado, I’ll be launching back into it.

Canadian Nationalism.  Oh long studied and disputed and mulled over topic by artists, writers, politicians and everyone in between, how I have missed you!  To me, I feel that Canadian patriotism comes in waves.  We are always at the height of our national pride during times when the Nation is put in spotlight.  Positive spotlight that is.  The sixties brought Expo 67 and the Centennial.  2010 brought the Vancouver Olympics, and more gold medals for Canadians on Canadian territory than any other country, in various different sports, including, of course, men’s hockey gold.  The truest epitome of national pride for almost any Canadian male between the ages of 2 and 200, showing the rest of the world that it was (and always will be) OUR game.  This time of pride for our country was so meaningful to some people that they are actually repeating it in Vancouver this February.

http://www.facebook.com/#!/event.php?eid=161787573855201

This Facebook event has over 6’000 people agreeing to attend and over 20’000 people “waiting to respond”.  This event is organized to revisit a time when Canada was number one.  So what makes these moments so special to people?  I think it’s because it’s a chance to show off.  How are we showing ourselves off to the rest of the world?  How are we defining ourselves?  In the sixties, it was common to want to establish ourselves as not American, but not being American does not make you Canadian.  What makes us Canadian?  What do we want others to think of us?  What do other countries make of our anthem, flag, cities, people, culture, landscape?    I asked my friend on exchange in Britain, what do people ask you about Canada?  Expecting some profound response, I was shocked when she told me “They ask if we always have red beer cups to party with because they don’t have them there, and they (the British university students) associate them with movies about college.  You know, National Lampoon, that sort of thing.”  Another friend from the States, responded “You’re altogether too tolerant of the cold and snow.  If it’s cold out, it’s not beautiful outside, I don’t care if the sun is out.”

Not exactly what I was looking for, but I suppose it’s a start, and definitely different answers than what I would usually expect to such a question.  More to ponder on Canadian national identity?  Because really, I still don’t think anyone has figured it out yet!

That’s all!  And welcome back to second semester musings with me!

Brit

